How to Disable Location Sharing Notifications in Google Maps

If you buy something through a referral link on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. Learn More

In this article you’ll learn how to turn off location sharing notifications in the Google Maps. This stops all phone and email alerts from Google to a phone that is sharing its’ location with others.

The Google Maps app is a convenient way to share your location with friends, family, or co-workers. Once you share your location, Google will send you regular notifications to remind you that others are able to see your current GPS location.

If you no longer wish to receive these notifications you can follow the instructions below to disable them.

Disabling Location Sharing Notifications in Google Maps

Yes, you can turn off location sharing alerts in Google Maps. The instructions below will disable all location sharing messages.

Step 1: Open Google Maps
Step 2: Tap the user profile in the top right corner

an arrow pointing to the user profile on the Google Maps home page

Step 3: Tap Settings

an arrow pointing "Settings" on the Google Maps main menu

Step 4: Scroll down and tap “Notifications”

an arrow pointing "Notifications" on the Google Maps "Settings" menu

Step 5: Tap “Location and Profile”

an arrow pointing "Location and profile" on the Google Maps "Notifications" menu

Step 6: Tap “Google location sharing (you)”.

an arrow pointing "Google Location Sharing (you)" on the Google Maps "Location and Profile" menu

Step 7: Tap “Off”

an arrow pointing "Off" on the Google Maps "Google Location sharing (you)" menu

What Are Google Maps Location Sharing Notifications?

Google Maps location sharing notifications are alerts sent from Google Maps to a user’s device. These alerts are sent at regular intervals to inform the user that their location is visible to others.

How Does the Google Maps App Notify You That Your Location is Being Shared?

Google Maps sends location sharing notifications in two ways.

  • an alert in the notification bar of the user’s mobile device
  • an email notification to the email address associated with the user’s Google account

The image below is an example of an email notification that is sent to the user’s email address.

email from Google notifying the user that location sharing is enabled on their device.

Why Does Google Maps Send Location Sharing Notifications?

Google Maps sends location sharing notifications protect the user’s privacy. Location sharing could be turned on by anyone with physical access to the phone. This information could be used to track the user’s location on Google Maps without their knowledge.

Periodic notifications ensure the user is aware that their location is shared.

Does Google Maps alert you when someone checks your location?

No, you will not receive a notification when someone checks your current location on Google Maps. Your Android or iOS phone will briefly display a location services icon in the notification bar.

About the Author

Jason has over 25 years in the information and internet security industry. He is passionate about smartphones, gadgets, and technology. He also got a solid background in programming and software.  This includes Python, C++, app development and more.

jason thompson