In this article you’ll learn how to turn off location sharing notifications in the Google Maps. This stops all phone and email alerts from Google to a phone that is sharing its’ location with others.
The Google Maps app is a convenient way to share your location with friends, family, or co-workers. Once you share your location, Google will send you regular notifications to remind you that others are able to see your current GPS location.
If you no longer wish to receive these notifications you can follow the instructions below to disable them.
Disabling Location Sharing Notifications in Google Maps
Yes, you can turn off location sharing alerts in Google Maps. The instructions below will disable all location sharing messages.
Step 1: Open Google Maps
Step 2: Tap the user profile in the top right corner
Step 3: Tap Settings
Step 4: Scroll down and tap “Notifications”
Step 5: Tap “Location and Profile”
Step 6: Tap “Google location sharing (you)”.
Step 7: Tap “Off”
What Are Google Maps Location Sharing Notifications?
Google Maps location sharing notifications are alerts sent from Google Maps to a user’s device. These alerts are sent at regular intervals to inform the user that their location is visible to others.
How Does the Google Maps App Notify You That Your Location is Being Shared?
Google Maps sends location sharing notifications in two ways.
- an alert in the notification bar of the user’s mobile device
- an email notification to the email address associated with the user’s Google account
The image below is an example of an email notification that is sent to the user’s email address.
Why Does Google Maps Send Location Sharing Notifications?
Google Maps sends location sharing notifications protect the user’s privacy. Location sharing could be turned on by anyone with physical access to the phone. This information could be used to track the user’s location on Google Maps without their knowledge.
Periodic notifications ensure the user is aware that their location is shared.
Does Google Maps alert you when someone checks your location?
No, you will not receive a notification when someone checks your current location on Google Maps. Your Android or iOS phone will briefly display a location services icon in the notification bar.